Welcome to the Appalachian Book Company   
 

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
Browse By Category
Appalachian Culture
Biographies, Memoirs
CDs - Music
CDs - Spoken
Civil War
Coal
Cooking & Food
Crime
DVDs
Education
Environmentalism
Fiction
Ghosts, Monsters & Folklore
Hatfields and McCoys
Health & Medicine
Humor
Labor
Music
Nature & Outdoors
Poetry
Politics
Railroads
Sports
Travel
West Virginia History
 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 
Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War, compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Author Name    compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Title   Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War

    Paperback, 200 pages

ISBN Number    0976470632 / 9780976470632

   5

Truth Be Told follows in the tradition of When Miners March and Dead Ringers in telling the history of West Virginia's miners in boldly uncensored fashion.

Truth Be Told offers new documentation of the infamous Esau scrip used by coal companies to force sexual servitude upon women in the New River region coal camps. Similar practices elsewhere are also documented.

Truth Be Told expands upon Bonnie Stewart's ground -breaking work on the Farmington No. 9 explosions. The disaster was anything but an "accident"! Read the federal mine inspector's smoking gun memo for yourself! A closing chapter by editor and sociologist Wess Harris offers a theoretical framework to suggest readers view our history through fresh lenses......

Combining readability and relevance, this anthology by some of Appalachia's leading scholars is suitable for high school and beyond.

Price = 14.95 USD


Related Items
Tale of the Devil: The Biography of Devil Anse Hatfield, Coleman C. Hatfield and Robert Y. Spence
Tale of the Devil: The Biography of Devil Anse Hatfield
Coleman C. Hatfield and Robert Y. Spence

Secret Life and Brutal Death of Mamie Thurman, Keith Davis
Secret Life and Brutal Death of Mamie Thurman
Keith Davis

Last Great Senator, David Corbin
Last Great Senator
David Corbin

Child Of The Appalachian Coalfields, Robert C. Byrd
Child Of The Appalachian Coalfields
Robert C. Byrd

Life and Times of Ann Bailey: Heroine of the Greater Kanawha Valley
Life and Times of Ann Bailey: Heroine of the Greater Kanawha Valley

Princess Aracoma and the Settling of West Virginia, G.T. Swain
Princess Aracoma and the Settling of West Virginia
G.T. Swain

Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History, Stan Cohen
Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History
Stan Cohen

Pictorial Guide To West Virginia's Civil War Sites and Related Information, Stan Cohen
Pictorial Guide To West Virginia's Civil War Sites and Related Information
Stan Cohen

First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours, Hunter Lesser
First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours
Hunter Lesser

Images of the Civil War in West Virginia, Terry Lowry and Stan Cohen
Images of the Civil War in West Virginia
Terry Lowry and Stan Cohen

Bridge Burner: Being the full and factual story of Dr. William Parks Rucker slave-owning Union Partisan, Michael P. Rucker
Bridge Burner: Being the full and factual story of Dr. William Parks Rucker slave-owning Union Partisan
Michael P. Rucker

Battle of Charleston and the 1862 Kanawha Valley Campaign, Terry Lowry
Battle of Charleston and the 1862 Kanawha Valley Campaign
Terry Lowry

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to appalachianbookco@gmail.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie