Welcome to the Appalachian Book Company   
 

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
Browse By Category
Appalachian Culture
Biographies, Memoirs
CDs - Music
CDs - Spoken
Civil War
Coal
Cooking & Food
Crime
DVDs
Education
Environmentalism
Fiction
Ghosts, Monsters & Folklore
Hatfields and McCoys
Health & Medicine
Humor
Labor
Music
Nature & Outdoors
Poetry
Politics
Railroads
Sports
Travel
West Virginia History
 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 
Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War, compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Author Name    compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Title   Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War

    Paperback, 200 pages

ISBN Number    0976470632 / 9780976470632

   5

Truth Be Told follows in the tradition of When Miners March and Dead Ringers in telling the history of West Virginia's miners in boldly uncensored fashion.

Truth Be Told offers new documentation of the infamous Esau scrip used by coal companies to force sexual servitude upon women in the New River region coal camps. Similar practices elsewhere are also documented.

Truth Be Told expands upon Bonnie Stewart's ground -breaking work on the Farmington No. 9 explosions. The disaster was anything but an "accident"! Read the federal mine inspector's smoking gun memo for yourself! A closing chapter by editor and sociologist Wess Harris offers a theoretical framework to suggest readers view our history through fresh lenses......

Combining readability and relevance, this anthology by some of Appalachia's leading scholars is suitable for high school and beyond.

Price = 14.95 USD


Related Items
Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History, Stan Cohen
Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History
Stan Cohen

Wheeling Suspension Bridge: A Pictorial Heritage, Emory L. Kemp & Beverly B. Fluty
Wheeling Suspension Bridge: A Pictorial Heritage
Emory L. Kemp & Beverly B. Fluty

Matewan Before The Massacre: Politics, Coal, and the Roots of Conflict in a West Virginia Mining Community, Rebecca J. Bailey
Matewan Before The Massacre: Politics, Coal, and the Roots of Conflict in a West Virginia Mining Community
Rebecca J. Bailey

Ultimate Book of West Virginia Lists, Rick Steelhammer
Ultimate Book of West Virginia Lists
Rick Steelhammer

Helvetia: The History of a Swiss Village in the Mountains of West Virginia, David H. Sutton
Helvetia: The History of a Swiss Village in the Mountains of West Virginia
David H. Sutton

Mountain Midwife: Life and Times of Isabella Brown Neal, Vickie Osborne Brown
Mountain Midwife: Life and Times of Isabella Brown Neal
Vickie Osborne Brown

First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours, Hunter Lesser
First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours
Hunter Lesser

Blood Feud: The Hatfields & The McCoys: The Epic Story of Murder & Vengeance, Lisa Alther
Blood Feud: The Hatfields & The McCoys: The Epic Story of Murder & Vengeance
Lisa Alther

Hatfields & the McCoys, Otis Rice
Hatfields & the McCoys
Otis Rice

Price of Justice: A True Story of Greed and Corruption, Laurence Leamer
Price of Justice: A True Story of Greed and Corruption
Laurence Leamer

Story of Berkeley Castle: What's True And What's Not, Jeanne Mozier
Story of Berkeley Castle: What's True And What's Not
Jeanne Mozier

Chronicles of Border Warfare, Alexander Scott Withers
Chronicles of Border Warfare
Alexander Scott Withers

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to appalachianbookco@gmail.com
Copyright©2018. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie