Welcome to the Appalachian Book Company   
 

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
Browse By Category
Appalachian Culture
Biographies, Memoirs
CDs - Music
Civil War
Coal
Cooking & Food
DVDs
Environmentalism
Fiction
Ghosts & Folklore
Hatfields and McCoys
Health & Medicine
Humor
Labor
Music
Nature & Outdoors
Poetry
Politics
Railroads
Sports
Travel
West Virginia History
 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 
Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War, compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Author Name    compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Title   Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War

    Paperback, 200 pages

ISBN Number    0976470632 / 9780976470632

   5

Truth Be Told follows in the tradition of When Miners March and Dead Ringers in telling the history of West Virginia's miners in boldly uncensored fashion.

Truth Be Told offers new documentation of the infamous Esau scrip used by coal companies to force sexual servitude upon women in the New River region coal camps. Similar practices elsewhere are also documented.

Truth Be Told expands upon Bonnie Stewart's ground -breaking work on the Farmington No. 9 explosions. The disaster was anything but an "accident"! Read the federal mine inspector's smoking gun memo for yourself! A closing chapter by editor and sociologist Wess Harris offers a theoretical framework to suggest readers view our history through fresh lenses......

Combining readability and relevance, this anthology by some of Appalachia's leading scholars is suitable for high school and beyond.

Price = 14.95 USD


Related Items
Child Of The Appalachian Coalfields, Robert C. Byrd
Child Of The Appalachian Coalfields
Robert C. Byrd

Life and Times of Ann Bailey: Heroine of the Greater Kanawha Valley
Life and Times of Ann Bailey: Heroine of the Greater Kanawha Valley

Princess Aracoma and the Settling of West Virginia, G.T. Swain
Princess Aracoma and the Settling of West Virginia
G.T. Swain

Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History, Stan Cohen
Civil War In West Virginia: A Pictorial History
Stan Cohen

Pictorial Guide To West Virginia's Civil War Sites and Related Information, Stan Cohen
Pictorial Guide To West Virginia's Civil War Sites and Related Information
Stan Cohen

First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours, Hunter Lesser
First Campaign: A Guide to Civil War in the Mountains of West Virginia, 1861. Three One-Day Driving Tours
Hunter Lesser

Images of the Civil War in West Virginia, Terry Lowry and Stan Cohen
Images of the Civil War in West Virginia
Terry Lowry and Stan Cohen

Bridge Burner: Being the full and factual story of Dr. William Parks Rucker slave-owning Union Partisan, Michael P. Rucker
Bridge Burner: Being the full and factual story of Dr. William Parks Rucker slave-owning Union Partisan
Michael P. Rucker

Battle of Charleston and the 1862 Kanawha Valley Campaign, Terry Lowry
Battle of Charleston and the 1862 Kanawha Valley Campaign
Terry Lowry

September Blood: The Battle of Carnifex Ferry, Terry Lowry
September Blood: The Battle of Carnifex Ferry
Terry Lowry

Civil War in Fayette County, West Virginia, Tim McKinney
Civil War in Fayette County, West Virginia
Tim McKinney

History of the Fifth West Virginia Cavalry: Formerly the Second Virginia Infantry, and of Battery G, 1st West Virginia Light Artillery, Frank S. Reader
History of the Fifth West Virginia Cavalry: Formerly the Second Virginia Infantry, and of Battery G, 1st West Virginia Light Artillery
Frank S. Reader

 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to appalachianbookco@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie