Welcome to the Appalachian Book Company   
 

Our secure web pages are hosted by Chrislands Inc, who use a Thawte SSL Certificate to ensure secure transmission of your information.
Fully Trusted SSL Certificate
 
Browse By Category
Appalachian Culture
Biographies, Memoirs
CDs - Music
Civil War
Coal
Cooking & Food
DVDs
Environmentalism
Hatfields and McCoys
Health & Medicine
Labor
Music
Nature & Outdoors
Politics
Sports
West Virginia History
 
Quick Search

Author
Title
Description
Keyword
 
 
 
 
Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War, compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Author Name    compiled and edited by Wess Harris

Title   Truth Be Told: Perspectives on The Great West Virginia Mine War

    Paperback, 200 pages

ISBN Number    0976470632 / 9780976470632

   5

Truth Be Told follows in the tradition of When Miners March and Dead Ringers in telling the history of West Virginia's miners in boldly uncensored fashion.

Truth Be Told offers new documentation of the infamous Esau scrip used by coal companies to force sexual servitude upon women in the New River region coal camps. Similar practices elsewhere are also documented.

Truth Be Told expands upon Bonnie Stewart's ground -breaking work on the Farmington No. 9 explosions. The disaster was anything but an "accident"! Read the federal mine inspector's smoking gun memo for yourself! A closing chapter by editor and sociologist Wess Harris offers a theoretical framework to suggest readers view our history through fresh lenses......

Combining readability and relevance, this anthology by some of Appalachia's leading scholars is suitable for high school and beyond.

Price = 14.95 USD


Related Items
 


Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to appalachianbookco@gmail.com
Copyright©2017. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by ChrisLands.com

 

 

cookie